Too many options!

When one decides to leave for a long weekend, with friends to that not so far away destination, a certain kind of pragmatic thrill is involved. It’s the joy of a short break mixed with the angst of an unavoidable, impending return. The mega full stop to everything you wish life would rather be about.

But when one decides to leave without a definite reason and doesn’t need to return to any pending obligation, the scenario stands altered. Going away starts to become real in the head. This is where I am at.

I’ve been planning and planning for the destination I’m to start with. It’s been going on for some time now. Toying with the idea of the south, north, north-east. Reading up about this place and that. Getting high on information over Google. Loosing my way around maps.

It’s so easy to travel in a map. All you have to do is glide your finger from one point to the other and say, “and here too.” So far I’ve fixed my plans for Sikkim, Gokarna, Kodaikanal, Spiti, Leh and Kolkata. So far. If I can stop adding to this list, I can start eliminating options and pick the final one. Finally.

I have too much pent up trapped traveler frustration, I suppose. Given that the last time I traveled long-term and completely according to my wishes was… never. So this time, my mind is ticking that it has to be just right. Just the perfect type of loafing about the country side. So much pressure.

Which one do you think I should pick? Any suggestions?

 

 

 

 

 

Published by Neetole Mitra

Follow me for stories, photos and video from the roads of India

4 thoughts on “Too many options!

  1. Starting from the top would have been ideal but given the punga going on in JK, not a good idea. NE should be good, but mind the monsoons there.From Goa maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment